U.S. Mint Sales Up with Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Dollar Debut

The U.S. Mint has released official figures for the 2013 Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Dollar bags, rolls, and boxes, which initiated sales last week. Following a shift in markets, sales of gold and platinum products registered changes, with levels surging for the American Eagle Gold Bullion Coin in the middle of the month.

The U.S. Mint initiated sales for the Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Dollars on April 11, 2013. The coin is the twenty-sixth release in the Presidential $1 Coin Program, coins which are now distributed via numismatic channels. Collectors have looked forward to the Theodore Roosevelt edition of the Presidential $1 Coins as it is one of the better-known Presidents not yet featured on a legal tender U.S. coin.

Totals sales from both the Philadelphia and Denver Mint facilities reached 3,430,350 coins in the 25-coin rolls, 100-coin bags, 250-coin boxes, and 500-coin boxes. Slightly reduced sales figures for the Teddy Roosevelt $1Presidential Coin, compared with the previous William McKinley $1 Presidential gold coin, showed a slight drop in initial sales, attributed to the McKinley coin including two additional days of sales and price dynamics featuring buyers waiting for the weekly readjustment of prices during the Roosevelt Coin’s initial sales.

Theodore Roosevelt served as the nation’s 26th President and at age 42 remains the youngest President. Roosevelt is well known for the Spanish-American War and leading the Rough Riders in battle on the island of Cuba.

The Roosevelt $1 Presidential Coins are the twenty-sixth in the series and the second to be initiated in 2013. The obverse of the coin features a portrait of Theodore Roosevelt along with the years of Presidency, 1901-1909, and the motto In God We Trust.

The design selections for the 2013 Presidential Dollars were announced by the United States Mint on December 17, 2012 with William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and Woodrow Wilson scheduled to be released in 2013.

The Presidential $1 Coin Program was launched in 2007 and features the portraits of the Presidents in the order they served. Four individual coins are scheduled to be released every year. The Treasury Department has decided to suspend the production of the series for circulation, but the coins continue to be produced in order to satisfy collector demand.

GS social media share img

Get Your Complementary Award Winning Guides Below

 Publish Real Money Magazine

 Publish Gold Investment Magazine

 Publish IRA 401K Kit Magazine

 Real Money Magazine